Hazard Mitigation

Desired Trend


Current Trend

Baseline (2010): 84.3%
Current (2018): 54.2%

Theme Prepared


Percent of local governments, including cities and counties, that have adopted their current local hazard mitigation plan

Why is it Important?

The effects of hazards such as tornadoes, floods, and severe weather can be reduced and sometimes even eliminated, through hazard mitigation efforts.  Hazard mitigation efforts are any actions that reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property. Hazard mitigation plans address natural hazards that have the potential to affect an area and identify strategies to reduce those threats. In populous Missouri regions, such as the St. Louis region, one mitigation plan is written for the entire region. Counties, cities, and school districts are then responsible for voluntarily adopting the plan. In Illinois, jurisdictions work with their respective counties to produce hazard mitigation plans.

Since 2004 federal law has required local hazard mitigation plans in order for local governments to be eligible for hazard mitigation grant funding through FEMA. Each hazard mitigation plan lasts for five years, after which it must be updated to ensure that plans stay relevant and current. Note, this eligibility for hazard mitigation grant funding does not impact disaster relief funding in the event of a disaster declaration.


How are we Doing?

In the St. Louis region, the percent of local governments (cities and counties) that adopted a current local hazard mitigation plan decreased from 84.3 percent in 2010 to 54.2 percent in 2018. The decrease in participation from 2010 to 2018 is twofold. In Missouri, the trend reflects a decrease in the number of cities and counties that adopted the St. Louis Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan for 2015-2020 from the number that adopted the plan for 2010-2014. In Illinois, the plan for St. Clair County has not been approved by FEMA and is therefore not available for local government adoption. In Illinois and Missouri, it is voluntary for local jurisdictions to adopt their respective current hazard mitigation plans.

Jurisdictions must formally pass an adoption resolution to participate in a new plan, which is updated every five years. The current status of the plans are as follows: East-West Gateway produces the plan for the city of St. Louis and Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, and St. Louis counties. The current plan was approved by FEMA in 2015 and has been adopted by 84 local governments. The plan for Monroe County was also approved by FEMA in 2015 and has been adopted by six local governments. The plan for Madison County was approved in 2014 and has been adopted by 20 local governments. The plan for St. Clair County expired in 2015 and is currently being reviewed by FEMA.

Geographic Level

St. Louis eight county bi-state region, including Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles and St. Louis counties and city of St. Louis in Missouri and Madison, Monroe and St. Clair counties in Illinois. View map.


Not Applicable 

Data Sources

Missouri State Emergency Management Agency, Illinois Emergency Management Agency, and Local Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plans